The skinny fat girl

Cropped screenshot of Marilyn Monroe from the ...

Image via Wikipedia

I was shopping for some clothes not to long ago and a sales rep told me I needed to lose weight and lose it quick. (I think she was trying to lose her job.) According to her I was fat. Me, being all of 4 foot 10 inches and 88 lbs soaking wet. Me, who had a the measurements, 35, 25, 35. I was fat to her. She called me stocky, stout, and round. I ignored her and when on my merry way. What she said seemed hypocritical and I wanted to turn a mirror at her so she could look at herself. (She was about 5 foot 4 and 210 lbs.) Besides, my mother tells me I’m a chub all the time. I’m used to it and try not to let trivial things get to me. My concern is what if she said that to someone else. Someone that doesn’t let critiques roll off of them as easily. What would that reaction be like?

Skinny is what some people strive for. Skinny, not healthy. Healthy I understand and support. It seems strange to me what is considered overweight to some and healthy to others. I have a friend that tells me that I could stand to gain a bit of weight, one that says I’m a good weight, and one acquaintance that tell me I’m a chunky monkey. I’ve also been around girls that consider anything above a size 2 overweight and it bothers me. Since when is a size 6 overweight? One of our biggest sex symbols, Marilyn Monroe, was certainly not a size 2 and believe it or not, dress sizes change.

Beauty comes in different shapes and sizes. Besides, would being skinnier make you a better person? Would it make you nicer or more caring?

I mean, I was once obsessed with my weight and I understand that there is a lot of pressure to look a certain way. What I don’t understand is why focus on a certain dress size? (If you want to know, I was about 68 lbs at my lightest.)

The point I’m trying to get across it that not  everybody is built the same way and there are a lot of different body types out there. Some people may be apple shaped, pear shaped, banana shaped, hourglass, the list goes on.

It doesn’t seem right to say, “Oh, You’re a size 0, you’re skinny or you’re a size 4, 10, 16, you’re fat.” Bone structure and body type factor in with weight as well. What’s more important is that, at the end of the day, you’re able to look at yourself in the mirror and be happy with what you see.

As my grandmother once said, “Wear what fits you. Nobody is going to see the tag.”

4 Comments on “The skinny fat girl”

  1. JJ says:

    Oh, someone needs to have a talk with her manager. I’ll volunteer.

  2. What bothered me is if I am considered fat to her then what is skinny? The boney guy from Animaniacs? Beside, I rather weigh more and be happy with how I look than weigh less and obsessed about it. (I want to get up to 95 lbs and, WOW, my grammar sucks today.)

    Oh, JJ can you believe that a knitting magazine I submitted too didn’t want pattern sizes over 42?!” (My biggest sizes are 52-56″) I worked really hard to make my patterns and I want them to fit different sizes too.

  3. MIke says:

    hourglass is da best! 🙂

  4. northernnarratives says:

    I think it is terrible that people label others fat or skinny. Life is much more than outer beauty. I think health, strength, intelligence, and kindness are more important than what clothing size a person wears.


Leave a Reply

