Terrible week

The past few weeks have been terrible. It seems like this year has been terrible for me. I’ve spent the past couple of weeks arguing with my utility company about how they are processing my bill. Well, how they’re not and then they did multiple times and they are charging me fees for their mistake. You see, the utility company where I live recently switched to a new system and I was told by one rep that with certain banks, a digit gets dropped and the payment never processes correctly. I was told that the fee would be waived by her but then I got a letter in the mail saying that my account was past due and that I had to pay it immediately which I did. While I was there another rep said, “No, the return check fee will not be waived and I don’t know why the rep told you that because that is not our policy.” Well, now they have pulled the amount out of my account multiple times. Fun right? I have spent all day last week on the phone with them and had a rep hang up on me. I still can’t pay my bill online because my account is still under review and I have to call them again. Needless to say, I am not amused. Too bad I can’t afford to get solar panels.

Now I have also been arguing with my family because of what they demand from me. My sister is the main offender because she’s so demanding. Recently I had her move in with me but the truth is that she does nothing around the house. No cooking, cleaning, nothing. She doesn’t pay rent or utilities. (It’s all on me.) She has a bad habit of leaving the stove/oven on. (Really? How do you forget that the stove is on?) The last argument we had was about mail. She spends the weekend with my father and she was going to be coming home the next day. Well, I went to spend father’s day with my family and when I go there she screamed at me for not bringing her mail. Her packages of small silicone molds. Mind you this wasn’t important mail and it was sitting on my desk safely at home. She wanted to go to my house and bring it to my mother’s and then wanted me drag it all back home with me the next day because she was going to stay at my mother’s. The thing is that I don’t have a car and my city doesn’t really have a bus or subway. (It does but you still have to walk about 5-7 miles to get where you really need to be.) My dad had an extra car but it had no insurance or liability. My mother’s house doesn’t have internet so I couldn’t just buy insurance online. I told her to be patient and wait because I was going home the next day  and I could give my mother her things. It wasn’t good enough for her. Now she told me she wants to move in with her friends and that she was not covering her portion of rent. No notice, nothing. To be honest, I want to slap her.

Is it bad that I have been looking at moving away? Maybe a change of scenery or a different pace? I mean, I speak three languages. Maybe if I put a few thousands of miles or an ocean between her and my family I would be happier. The thing is that there is a constant tug of war between all the members of my family and I am caught in the middle. My mother is a clingy, insecure Tiger Mom that belittles me for my appearance and poor social skills. (I cringe when I am around lots of people.) My father is a indifferent man with constant mood swings. One sister is a kleptomaniac that used my identity the last time she was in jail (I had to spend a few hours at the police department.) and the other is a self centered passive-aggressive brat that is still stuck in a middle school mind set. (She didn’t want a theatre scholarship because a girl she hated was going to the same college.)

The only thing keeping me from stabbing them with knitting needles is the fact that I like and need my knitting needles. (That and tje fact that I don’t have many that aren’t broken and the ones that aren’t are made of bamboo. I can safely say I will never by a Boye interchangeable set ever again.) I have been knitting all while they have been fighting amongst themselves and I have to say that I got a few swatches done and part of sweater done. (I have yet to wash my swatches though.)

I'm hoping the pretty colors and design distract me from my family.

The other good news is that, YAY!, I made some new friends on Facebook, Ravelry, and Minecraft. If you haven’t noticed, I have added some new people to my blog roll and I would highly suggest you check them out. Each one is different but charming and delightful in its own way. (Nathan and Stephen are too busy to blog so you can skip theirs.) I have also decided that for the rest of the year, any money I make off my patterns, half of the amount will go to charity.

Before I go, I don’t want you to think this post is all about bile and anger. It’s just been a tough week or so for me and while I was spending hours of my life on hold with the power company I did make this.

It's supposed to be a Minecraft sheep and it's made out of wool. The... uh... entrance is in the back... I should have planned that out better.

9 Comments on “Terrible week”

  1. northernnarratives says:

    Hi. The utility companies are pretty nasty here too. I wish I could afford solar panels and a windmill too:) And I encourage you to move away. Not because of your family but for yourself. Go to school or get a job in another state or another country. Have adventures. See the world beyond your back yard. You will never regret it! Judy

  2. Washu Hannibal says:

    *huge hugs* Dang girlie, you are having a hard time. If I was you, I would kick out your sister and say “Go on, live with friends see if they will tolerate you leaving the stove on and burning their home down!” I can relate to wanting to stab someone with the knitting needles and I can say “Don’t!” My ex used to be mean and violent so one day I faught back and nearly ended up in jail. They had my case of him being violent on file, months ago! *More hugs*

    Keep knitting, it’s a good way to feel better 🙂

    • I’m glad you got out of that relationship.
      Hmmm… I think if I did get mad enough, my “victim” would look like a rouge cenobite. (The pinhead from Hellraiser.) Truthfully, I don’t want to part with my knitting needles since I have so few. (Some broke when I moved and my interchangeable set needs to be taken out back.)

  3. Michelle says:

    Hmmmm. perhaps you should write the members of your family into characters in a book or movie script. 😀 I hope things calm down and get better! The knitting looks wonderful! I’m eager to see the finished product!

    • Hmm… I should probably do that but I have so many unfinished stories. I have a bad habit of writing something and then forgetting about it.
      I’m a little nervous about my latest project to be honest. It’s a steek. I do think I will be using the pattern for some mittens and a hat.

  4. Jake Walker says:

    A move I think would be a good idea. It’s quite the remarkable phenomenon that our surroundings make such a huge affect on our peace of mind.
    My family and I are due to move soon as well. I took a paycut from my job and they informed me that they might even lose the business entirely. At least they give me fair warning unlike many other bosses out there, but now I cannot afford the area I live in now nor quite provide for my family.
    It’s gonna be tough, but tough times have befallen many, and we gotta do what we gotta do.
    Also, fret not about your anti-social behaviors. I’m the same way (although the intensity varies). I have social anxiety disorder exacerbated by a little trauma experienced in Iraq, and malls FREAK me out. But alas, I feel this is more of a blessing than a curse because it forces one to become secure in and of themselves and not seek so much outside approval and validation. It fosters a discipline of self-reliance, in other words.
    Just look at the hierarchy of needs. self affirmation and empowerment are best derived from, just that, the self.
    You know what’s best. Don’t let others opinion sway you to and fro and keep you practically stagnant in developing a fulfilling life. Even family. Best of luck and love your blog.

    Question: How do I put your link on my blog? like…permanently? you know what I mean right?

  5. Tana says:

    Sorry for all of the troubles–but the knitting is beautiful! Don’t ruin your needles! 😉


Leave a Reply

