Top 30 before 30

In the past couple of terrible after terrible weeks, I had some time on my hands to really think. I have thought about all the things I wanted to do, but put off doing because of some reason or another. See, I was always a person that followed my head rather than my heart and… Well, living like that has made me realized that I need to enjoy life more. I don’t want to wake up and think that life has passed me by. So I thought about all the things I wanted to do as a child, the places I always wanted to see and… Well, I am an adult now, and I thought I make try them out. So, I have decided to make a list of the things I want to do by the time I turn 30. (It’ll be 2018.)

1. Live in another country even if it’s for a short while (I have decided I am going to save to study aboard and my French could use a LOT of work)

2. Read Dante’s Inferno in Italian. (Guess I would have to learn Italian first.)

3. Learn to ski or snowboard

4. Dance on the Great Wall of China

5. Actually learn to dance (Rather than look a marionette caught in a wind storm.)

6. Visit the Louvre

7. Fly a kite near Stonehenge

8. See the ruins of  the Temple of Athena

9. Write a book

10. Visit a beer garden in Germany

11. Kiss the Blarney Stone

12. Run a marathon (Well part of it at least… or maybe take up running again.)

13. Finish my degree

14. Fall in love (Yeah… it’s almost halfway down the list…)

15. Get over my fear of rock fish and sharks and go scuba diving

16. Learn to drive stick

17. Learn to play the violin or piano

18. Learn the constellations

19. Build my own computer

20. See an opera live (Les Contes D’Hoffman is my favorite)

21. Learn to spin yarn (or do it once at least)

22. Visit my birth place (Hong Kong)

23. Finish some of my screenplays, short stories, and poems

24. Go mushroom hunting (For the yummy eat-y kind and not the, “Ohh… look at the colors…” trippy kind.)

25. Learn to ice skate (What’s with me and winter activities?)

26. Learn to whistle and snap my fingers

27. Learn to keep a diary (Rather than just write in in once every 3 or so months.)

28. Take up photography

29. Go deep sea fishing

30. Learn to be happy with who I am

I realize that some of these goals are going to be harder than others but I remember that nothing in life worth having ever comes easy. I have become restless. I fear that if I keep living the way I am, the landlocked blues will continue to pull me under until there is nothing left, and that scares me more than anything. I don’t want to be older and think about the what ifs in life. I want to enjoy life again. I want to smile like I mean it and play in the rain. I want to feel sand between my toes and see the ocean again. Those are my goals and I hope that I can complete them.

If anybody knows about going to school aboard I would really like some info on that. I think that would be hardest thing on my list but it’s something that I have wanted for a great many years. (About the last 4 or 5 years.) It’s not easy to start a new life in another country but both of my parents went to school overseas and took me along, so I know it’s doable. It’ll just be hard but I think the reward will be worth it.

3 Comments on “Top 30 before 30”

  1. northernnarratives says:

    What a great list! I look forward to reading about you reaching for every one. (Your local university may be a good place to find information about studying abroad) Judy

    • Thank you so much Judy. I’m taking your advice. There is life outside my apartment, my city, my state, and my country. There is life and I need to enjoy it while I can. The thing is that I have started planning little by little and it seems so daunting. Maybe the first step is the hardest.

      • northernnarratives says:

        The first step may be the hardest, and if that is true, the other steps will get easier. What an exciting time for you! Judy


Leave a Reply

