Itty bitty knits and other tidbits

Baby sweaters count, don’t they? In my goal to make 12 sweaters this year, I was wondering if baby sweaters count. It seems so many of my friends had babies these past few months that I have been caught up making teeny tiny sweaters. (I count 3 so far, and one is due the end of this month, and another two in a few more months.)

So here is the first one I made. I didn’t want to add buttons fearing a choking hazard and I accidentally shrunk it. Heh… It was on my desk along with a hoodie of mine and well, I scooped both up and put them in the washing machine. It wasn’t until I was folding clothes did I find this adorable sweater among my black shirts and hoodies. (I’m glad it wasn’t with the lighter clothing.)

As babies sizes vary so much, I don’t know if my friends’ baby will get much use out of it but I hope they like it. I started making this sweater before they had their little girl, so I wasn’t able take measurements of the baby’s chest.

The pattern is “Chickadee" by Ysolda Teague. My friend got me the book, Little Red in the City, because he claimed the sweaters were so me. I made this on some size 3 knitting needles and some fingering weight yarn.


I have also been working on a top down sweater for myself. Sadly, the color is being discounted and that makes me sad because there are very few yellows that I like. Growing up, my mother claimed that yellows really didn’t suit the Asian complexion and made it look like it had sallow pallor to it. I suppose that is why I have an aversion to most yellows but I made an exception.

I had already finished my first sweater of the year but all it is lacking are some buttons. Until I get/sew some on, photographic evidence of it is still pending. ^.^

PS. I got a camera as a gift for xmas this year. So be prepared to be bombarded with some random pictures.

Leave a Reply

